June 14
by Billy Kilgore and Margarete Parks

Reigning track champions defended their turf this week at North Georgia Speedway, as the first four features of the night were won by defending track champions. SUPER LATE MODEL John "JJ Sideways" Jones became the first repeat winner of the year at NGS. In an event that saw three leaders, several cautions, and a late race rally, Jones was able to charge to the front, take advantage of some bad luck for fellow competitor Rick Hixson, and clinch his second victory of the year. At the drop of the green, pole sitter David Payne shot to the lead, leaving Hixson, and the rest of the field in tow. Payne paced the field for the first eight laps, before Hixson got a run of the bottom of turn two, and shot by on the back straight to take over the point. Behind the front two, Jones, and visiting driver Paul Tims started a march to the front. Jones drove by Payne for second, and started applying immediate pressure on Hixson. After a restart, contact between Jones, Payne, and Shorty Frazier would again cause the yellow to waive. The yellow sent Frazier to the tail, as he had stopped on the track, but also sent Payne to the pits to change a flat. The battle up front came to an end on lap 19, when mechanical problems sent Hixson to the pits while leading. With Hixson out of the way, Jones sailed to victory, as Payne rallied back to a strong second place finish. The duo were followed by Tims, Jody Coltrane, Ronnie Payne, Aaron Ridley and Brad Allen. LIMITED LATE MODEL Daven Dilbeck continued to show everyone who the dominant car is in limited late model action. Driving his familiar #30, Dilbeck rocketed to a heat win, and followed it up with a feature victory. He would be followed to the line by Jimmy Gray, Brian Burke, Jody Campbell, Justin Winters, Donnie Blackwell, James Gamble, Leon Brindle, Roger Frye, Jeff Jones and Tony Brindle. SPORTSMAN action saw Darel Ownbey win a hard fought battle over last week's winner Reed Johnson. Johnson applied pressure early, then held off a late race push for the runner up position. Ownbey and Johnson would be followed by Randy Lumpkin, Jason Ledford, Derek Ellis, Charles Ward, Darrell Sullivan, Jerome Blackwell, Anthony Quarles and Brent Clark. In HOBBY, the "Chip Brindle Show" shows no signs of being canceled, as the track champion would cruise to a heat, and feature win in relatively easy fashion. Following Brindle to the line was Bentley Goff, John Clark, Don Farmer, Mickey Long, Troy Massingill, Mark Knox, Jerry Kinsey, Tod Hernandez, Randy Walston, Roger Scott and Justin Mitchell. MINI STOCK put on a fine show with Steven Campbell and Greg Callahan battling for position before Steven took command and leaving the rest in is tracks as he took the win over Callahan, Jimmy Whaley, Lukie Shipman, Ralph Langston, Billy Haswell, Grady Garrett, Jeff Garrett, Neal Drummond. STREET STOCK was a blast with most of the field either broke or wrecked that left 2 cars on the track with Patrick Wilson getting the checkered and Brandon Armitage getting the big DQ for being light. The result were Wilson, Bryan Chapman, Lee Shipman, Donnie Farmer, Mike Harrison, David Ghorley, Shane Swinney and Willie Wall Miller. GEORGIA VINTAGE RACE CARS paid a visit to NGS putting on their show with Bill Rolader Jr. taking his first win over Mickey Lawson, Dennis Griffin, Bobby Roberts, Gordon Jones, Levie Jones and Bill Rolader Sr. The kids raced their bicycles with the win going to Eric Blaylock from Chatsworth for the 6 and under. Age 7 to 10 went to Dakota Swinney from Dalton. Age 11 and up went to Kevin Bailey from Resaca.

1. John Jones J1 Ringgold, GA
2. David Payne 8 Murphy, NC
3. Paul Tims 84 Georgetown, TN
4. Jody Coltrane 11
5. Ronnie Payne 18
6. Aaron Ridley 81
7. Brad Allen 55
8. Keith Frazier 11
9. Johnny Cloer Jr. 41
10. Rick Hixson 16
11. Gary McPherson 9
12. Bo Moorhouse 29
13. Greg Knight 5
14. Kevin Gibson m45
15. Jerry Bradley 25
16. Lamar Scoggins 32
17. Brian Hickman 41

1. Daven Dilbeck 30 Copperhill, TN
2. Jimmy Gray 11 Tunnel Hill, GA
3. Brian Burke B39 Dalton, GA
4. Jody Campbell 28
5. Justin Winters J1
6. Donnie Blackwell 72
7. James Gamble 27
8. Leon Brindle 21
9. Roger Frye 6
10. Jeff Jones J28
11. Tony Brindle 91
DQ Pat Crutchfield 11 40lb.light
dns Steve Barkley 21
dns Shannon Bearden 55

1. Darel Ownbey 22 Calhoun, GA
2. Reed Johnson 44 Dalton, GA
3. Randy Lumpkin 22 Calhoun, GA
4. Jason Ledford 1
5. Derek Ellis 99
6. Charles Ward 48
7. Darrell Sullivan D7
8. Jerome Blackwell 82
9. Anthony Quarles 42
10. Brent Clark 50
dsn Scott Chitwood 13

1. Chip Brindle 38 Chatsworth, GA
2. Bentley Goff 4 Chatsworth, GA
3. John Clark 47 Tunnel Hill, GA
4. Don Farmer 7
5. Mickey Long 01
6. Troy Massingill T7
7. Mark Knox 46
8. Jerry Kinsey 14
9. Tod Hernandez T6
10. Randy Walston 1
11. Roger Scott 35
12. Justin Mitchell 11
dns Chris Sizemore 20
dns Brian Winkler 35

1. Steven Campbell 11 Georgetown, TN
2. Greg Callahan 23 Chatsworth, GA
3. Jimmy Whaley 21 Dalton, GA
4. Lukie Shipman 44
5. Ralph Langston 14
6. Billy Haswell 11
7. Grady Garrett 13
8. Jeff Garrett J8
9. Neal Drummond 21

with just 2 cars finishing the race
1. Patrick Wilson 72 Chattanooga, TN
DQ-LIGHT Brandon Armitage 29
2. Bryan Chapman 17 Plainville, GA
3. Lee Shipman 8 Calhoun, GA
4. Donnie Farmer 07
5. Mike Harrison 40
6. David Ghorley 2
7. Shane Sweeney 29
8. Willie Miller 70
dns Weaver 1
dns Bobby Chapman 14
dns Jason Walston 31




This site is built and maintained by

© 2003 WRT Web Designs and North Georgia Speedway